Latvia adopts euro


As from the 1st of January 2014 Latvia will become the 18th European Union member state, which will adopt euro as its common currency and sole legal tender. The changeover to the euro will be based on the exchange rate of the lat to the euro set by the Bank of Latvia (0.702804), whereby each lat is equal to 1.42 euro.